A Long Trail of Tiny Steps

I realize that I’ve been absent from this blog for more than a month now.  Life has been happening and I’ve been so wrapped up in taking my baby steps towards adulthood that I’ve only seen the baby steps themselves; I haven’t really seen how much progress I’ve made going one step at a time.  So here’s a recap of what I’ve done and, in light of the season, what I’m thankful for.

Since my last home project update, I’ve installed the plastic trim around my bedroom windows.  I didn’t take any pictures because it wasn’t a very complicated/interesting task, but I’m glad that it’s done.*  I’m also glad that I’m dating Glenn, who knows how important it is for me to achieve things on my house to do list, and so upon completion of my most recent project, brought me a slice of Kraft American Singles with “Gratz” written on the plastic wrapper.  An “acheesement”.  Yay for my house.  Yay for my boy.  And yay for WoW jokes.

As for WoW, this happened on Black Friday.

I am now level capped, and, as you can see from my nerd feed, I’ve taken a little break from Loremaster and have started working on my faction grinds.  I’ve capped Argent Dawn and will now begin chain running RoAQ for Cenarion Circle rep.  Yes, I’m a nerd.  But I think that’s one of the best parts of me, so I’m thankful for that too.

I hosted my family’s Thanksgiving dinner this year, which was an interesting adventure.  As I’d seen my mother do every year, I cleaned my house, and as I always suspected was the case when I helped mom clean her house, I’m pretty sure no one noticed.  My brother-in-law said that the house looked great, but he’s such a nice guy I’m pretty sure he would have said that had the house been a damp, charred, post-fire ruin.  Which it might have been, had I had to cook the turkey.  So I am thankful for roasting pans and for a family who always shows up (and even brings food to important celebrations) so that I don’t have to completely panic.

I am also thankful that despite my love of pumpkin pie and too much whipped cream, I did not gain weight over Thanksgiving.  I was over my calorie goal on Thanksgiving, but only by 230 calories, which is less than a single slice of pie.  Overall, I’m doing really well.  Since my last weight loss post I’ve lost an additional four pounds, which means I’m less than two pounds away from the goal I set almost eight months ago.  I’m suprised I’ve been able to stick with it this long and I’m very happy that I’ve managed to lose all this weight (26 pounds!), despite how badly I’ve been doing with my calorie goals recently.  I am thankful for myfitnesspal, because I strongly believe I would not have been able to lose this weight without their website.

My car has been fixed for now.  It was the spark plugs all along; we just replaced bad plugs with bad plugs.  Fortunately, my mechanic replaced the bad plugs fairly cheaply and gave me a discount on the diagnosis labor charge.  As it turns out, I also need to replace my timing belt (due to age), but I can save up for that one as it’s not in danger of snapping in the next week or two.  Lesson learned here:  When the car acts up, just take her to James.  I am thankful for my honest mechanic and for a car that is more than tolerant of my lack of maintenance.

I am also thankful for this baby, who I have only just recently met and only for the one time.His name is Charlie and he’s wonderful.  I am thankful for this baby because he has singlehandedly restored a desire for babies of my own.  And due to the circumstances of our meeting, he’s helped spark the belief that I might not have to raise babies alone.  So thank you, Charlie, and I hope you get better soon.

So there you have it.  The little steps I’ve taken have turned into a lot of distance and I’m both surprised and proud.  I feel like I’m actually making good progress on the road to being a real grown up.  I don’t always see it, so I’m especially grateful that right now I can recognize the progress I’ve made thus far.

Looking towards the future, tonight I’m going to the rock climbing gym for the first time in literally months.  I’m really looking forward to it and I’m hoping that I can talk Glenn into taking some pictures, maybe even a video.  I hope that this will be the beginning of me getting back into the habit of going to gym regularly.  I miss climbing and I really do need to just make the time to go.

This weekend I will be visiting my best friend (for whom I am also incredibly thankful) to start cementing my plans for the shower for her wedding (which is in less than two months!).  We have several important, wedding related activities planned for the weekend, but we shall also be visiting a goth club on Saturday night and I’m quite excited about it.  I’ve never been to a goth club, but I’m pretty sure that it will be awesome.  After all, it gives us an excuse to look like this again and how could that not be a win situation?

.

.

.

*I’ve also done some work downstairs (mostly involving paint and baseboards), but as I haven’t done a single post about downstairs, it seems odd to start writing about it in the middle of the process.

About Vulpes Veritas

By day: Archivist and Librarian. By night: Rock climber, gamer, photographer, blogger, and way more of a nerd than you realize.
This entry was posted in Chez Moi, Health, Home Decor, Nerdity, The Winding Road, World of Warcraft and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment