Follow Up 4: The List (Updated)

Well it’s been a little over a year since I made the five year plan, so I decided to go back and check in.  I updated a few things (noted by itallics) and was happy to find that I could cross a couple of them off.  Here’s where things stand now:

.

Personal:

  • Live independently.  March 1, 2012 (approximately)
  • Get LASIK.
  • Find a church that I enjoy and nurtures me spiritually.  Attend regularly.
  • Have no boxes in any form of storage (including a garage).  February 18, 2012
  • Have gym AND exercise routines that I follow.
  • Plant, maintain, and use items from a vegetable and herb garden.
  • Do some kind of Habitat for Humanity/Samaritan’s Purse project.  (Don’t just give money; give skills and time.)
  • Subscribe to a newspaper.  (Reward myself for reading the newspaper by also subscribing to a trashy magazine.)

Travel:

  • Go to Europe with Glenn and/or friend(s) OR go to Asia, Africa, or the Middle East with mom.
  • Visit friends in Southern California once a quarter.
  • Visit friends in Sacramento once a month.

Career:

  • Get Paralegal Certified.
  • Become a Notary.  February 20, 2012
  • Have a job with cool/pretension factor.  (i.e. CIA)
  • Research/decide about MBA.

Financial:

  • Pay off all current debt.
  • Carry zero balance on JC Penney account.
  • Open a savings account with a credit union.
  • Get some kind of investment plan going.
  • Have a relatively significant amount of money set aside for travel.

.

After one year, I should be one-fifth or 20% of the way through this list.  There are 20 items on the list.  I have completed three of them.  This means I’ve completed 15%.  I’m good with that.  Especially since there are several items on the list that have been started but not completed, such as:

Personal:

  • Find a church that I enjoy and nurtures me spiritually.  Attend regularly.  I’ve been visiting at all kinds of churches in Contra Costa County since I moved here.  I’ve found a couple that I like, but no church that I really felt connected to.
  • Have gym AND exercise routines that I follow.  I climb a couple nights a week (admittedly, using guest passes) and I’m paying attention to my diet now.  Once I get a TV, I’ll be able to do my fitness DVDs again and once my car is paid off (by the end of the year) I’ll be able to have a gym membership.
  • Plant, maintain, and use items from a vegetable and herb garden.  I planted some strawberry seeds the other day.  Yes, this is neither a vegetable nor an herb, but it’s a the start of my own garden.  I also bought seeds for sweet basil; I just haven’t planted them yet.
  • Subscribe to a newspaper.  (Reward myself for reading the newspaper by also subscribing to a trashy magazine.)  I’d really like to be able to do this one with an e-reader, since I’m not ecstatic about having a bunch of paper cluttering up my life.  As of yet, I have no e-reader.  But at least I’ve decided how I want my newspaper to come to me.

Travel:

  • Visit friends in Southern California once a quarter.  I went to Faire at the end of May.  I may not be able to get down there this quarter, unless something special happens (*coughcoughSpensercoughcough*).  But I’m aware of the cost of travel and am at least trying to make this more feasible.
  • Visit friends in Sacramento once a month.  I saw Tanthony in… April… I think.  This one is much harder than it should be.  We’re all much too busy.

Career:

  • Get Paralegal Certified.  I did my research on this one and decided which school I want.  I had a plan for actually signing up and getting the certification, but things did not go as planned there.  So now I just have to decide if I’m willing to pay the $8,000 myself.  As of right now, the answer is no.
  • Have a job with cool/pretension factor.  More on this later. 

Financial:

  • Pay off all current debt.  About $6,500 more to go.  That’s still a daunting number, but it’s better than the $8,650.96 it was last June.
  • Carry zero balance on JC Penney account.  Just less than $400 left here.  I had paid a bunch of it off, but then I bought some (much needed) new flats a couple new shirts to keep me from hating my work wardrobe.  I don’t regret the decision to buy what I bought, so I’m not upset with where I stand here.  Note:  I changed this from “close” to “carry zero balance” because long term credit history is important, apparently.
  • Open a savings account with a credit union.  I have the money to do this.  I just need to actually take it to a credit union.

.

So that’s where things stand.  Pretty damned good, I’d say.

About Vulpes Veritas

By day: Archivist and Librarian. By night: Rock climber, gamer, photographer, blogger, and way more of a nerd than you realize.
This entry was posted in The List, The Winding Road and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment